A NEW YEAR’S POST… OR NOT?

GTY

 

It’s a new year. The whole world rejoicing and welcoming the new year. But my feeling – INDIFFERENCE. It’s just another day. Men labelled the rotation and revolution of the earth as time and recorded the time taken for one oscillation and gave it a name. Why is the culmination of one revolution a cause for celebration? Why is it any more important than a rotation? Is it because it doesn’t happen as often as a rotation? What difference does it really make?

I’m like the Grinch to your Christmas, aren’t I? Well I understand the emotional need for man to celebrate, to let go and reasons to believe that his life has meaning. If that comes in forms of new year resolutions to keep and reminiscence of the bygones, then so be it. But I won’t be keeping any resolutions this new year’s, for I am now wiser. I’ve realised that resolutions can be kept at any point of time and I, for one, do not need to be bound by the whole “new year resolution” thing. If I make a promise, it’ll be because I want to and not because I have to. So no more new year resolutions.

As far as reminiscing old times and evaluating your life goes, I do it on a daily to once-in-two-days basis. So, I think I am covered on that front too.

But celebrations – I am all for. A night for friends and family to get together and have fun. That sounds like something that is worth looking forward to. Although, theoretically there is no need for a particular day for that, but practically, it takes a festival to reunite and rejoice. Hoping to have a lot more conversations over coffee and a wonderful time ahead.

 

Signature.png

Penny for your Thoughts...

