H for Heroes

Everybody asks me, “Who’s your role model?” “Who do you look up to?” and so on. I don’t believe in role-models. Humans are fallible. Everybody commits mistakes and pinning your adoration on one person becomes dicey, when they commit mistakes. It becomes difficult to accept the reality that they too are humans and that they are just as prone to committing mistakes as we are. Why take that risk? This is why I believe in super-heroes. I don’t believe in super-heroes, as in, they are real. But I believe in the decisions and the values they follow. Here are some of the super-heroes and their qualities that I adore.

Batman:

Batman: I have one rule.

The Joker: Then that’s the rule you’ll have to break to know the truth.

Batman: Which is?

 

The Joker: The only sensible way to live in this world is without rules. And tonight you’re gonna break your one rule.

 

Batman: I’m considering it.

This is exactly why I look up to the Batman. He has this rule of not killing anybody. Well, that is the law of the land, so I understand following it is more of a compulsion than an option. But I substitute killing someone to hurting someone. I will not physically hurt someone to the point of medical care. I may slap someone or punch someone, given the circumstances, but never will I ever fight someone. And never will I ever raise my hand on a female. This is something of a quality I adore in Batman and the realization that it is very hard trying not to punch someone in the face, especially when they get on your nerve, only adds to my adoration of the caped crusader.

 

Iron Man:

Tony Stark: ‘Mr. Stark displays compulsive behavior’. In my defense, that was last week. ‘Prone to self-destructive tendencies’ I was dying, please, and, aren’t we all? ‘Textbook narcissism’…Agreed.

The narcissistic, self-destructive, compulsive, feckless, ego-maniac that he is, he still makes it looks as if he’s the most awesome-st person on the face of the earth. This attitude towards life is what attracts me. No matter how much you screw up, you believe in yourself and fix it. No matter what anybody says about you, you don’t care. As long as the people who matter to you know you well, there is no need for others to know your better side. They can form whatever opinion they want. It just proves that they are thinking about you and maybe are jealous about your awesomeness. Such is the genius of Tony Stark.

 

Spiderman:

Peter Parker: [voiceover] Whatever life holds in store for me, I will never forget these words: “With great power comes great responsibility.” This is my gift, my curse. Who am I? I’m Spider-man.

 

This seems to be the only thing anyone has ever learnt from the Spiderman movies. The whole “with great power…” thing seems to be great advice, but I feel Spiderman is more than that. Not really. Quips, snaps and acquired flexibility and of course, the web slingy-thingys aside, there is nothing that makes him a superhero. Other than the understanding and execution of the proverbial dialogue. I may not adore the hero (which I feel was utter luck on Peter Parker’s part), but I sure do adore and try to follow the saying. I, automatically feel a sense of responsibility as soon as I’m given power. But how long it lasts is a question that is yet to be answered.

 

Lord Eddard ‘Ned’ Stark:

Eddard_Stark_quote_wallpaper_zillobeast

            Ned: You think my life is such a precious thing to me, that I would trade my honor for a few more years…of what?

I know, I know that Ned Stark is not a superhero. But by that logic neither is Batman or Iron Man. They are all, nevertheless, my heroes and so is he. As the quote denotes, Stark was an honorable man, who never lied. Honor was everything to him. He didn’t make promises he couldn’t keep and neither do I. Well, at least I try. Living honorably is the only way to live is a belief that I, myself, believe in. Having and maintaining dignity, not for others, but for oneself is the best way to live. I believe that. And I try to live by that belief.

 

Jack Bauer:

            Jack: I’m the last thing you’ll ever see if anything happens to my wife or my daughter!

 

Fighting relentlessly for what matters to him most either family or national security or the life of the President, is what defines Jack Bauer. But what I like about this guy is not his courage or the ability to do insane stuff. (The only thing Jack Bauer is bad at is suicide – Found online). What I actually like about him is his innate ability to use words to threaten someone so badly that you won’t need to think twice before obeying him. Here’s an example:

Jack:You probably don’t think I could force this towel down your throat, but trust me I can. All the way. Except that I’d hold onto this little bit at the end. When your stomach starts to digest the towel, I pull it out. Taking your stomach lining with it. Most people probably take about a week to die. It’s very painful.

 

These are some of the many traits of superheroes or their equals, that I admire and try inculcating into my own life. Like I said, Humans are fallible, but symbols and fictional characters, even though they are imperfect at times, can be looked upon. They are more easily imitated compared to actual humans.

Anyways, hope you like the list. If you have anything else to add, do comment.

Signature.png

Penny for your Thoughts...

