October Rain

So it’s raining cats and dogs here! My prayers have been answered! I feel jubilation and excitement, standing on the terrace doorway and just watching the heavens open up, holding a cup of hot coffee with my iPod plugged into my ears.

Just as I was marvelling at the beauty of the downpour, I had an epiphany. I thought of getting drenched. I ran down, kept my iPod and coffee mug, locked my room and ran upstairs and into the rain.

Image Source : here

I just don’t know what it is, but just standing in the rain, letting the rain fall on your face, trickling down your body is just liberating. I literally felt all my tensions and fears seep away with the water. The realisation that you are free of all judgements because there’s nobody around to judge you and freedom to do anything you want is just exhilarating and it feels like deliverance. I’ve never before felt so peaceful and serene.

The scent of rain on dry earth, the magnificent vision of rain all around you, the pitter-patter of the rain hitting the concrete of the terrace, the taste of water in its purest form, and the feeling of each droplet falling on your face and skin makes you feel divine. This is what you get when every basic sense of your body is stimulated with extreme purity and just awesomeness. I, personally feel that this feeling transcends into something much more than what is perceived as humane. You feel a direct connection to nature, and you discard all your personal baggage and are reduced to your bare human form.

Maybe it’s because I never had such a relationship with anyone so far, but this experience was something that I prefer to have alone. To be with myself, and I’m talking in the spiritual kind of way and not the times that I spend in front of my computer “alone”.

It has been a long time since it rained here and this is the first real downpour in a year or so. The fact that this came in October, which is way past the monsoon season is in itself a phenomenon.

I feel it’s gonna rain like this for days
So let it rain down and wash everything away
I hope that tomorrow the sun will shine
I feel it’s gonna rain like this
Rain like this
Rain like this

Fall down
Wash away my yesterdays
Fall down
So let the rain fall down on me

-Creed (Rain)

Please do forgive me for sounding childish… Rain makes you feel childish!

7 thoughts on “October Rain

  1. this is by far ur best post. i simply loved it. n i dunt usually like stuff unless its funny. but i loved this one. oru mazha nananya feeling 🙂
    “The scent of rain on dry earth, the magnificent vision of rain all around you, the pitter-patter of the rain hitting the concrete of the terrace, the taste of water in its purest form, and the feeling of each droplet falling on your face and skin makes you feel divine. ” i love this bit the best. u remind me of me a coupla yrs ago. so very at peace 🙂
    i was lookin for sumthin funny to read to cheer me up tday… this was good. thanks. keep writing like this.. 🙂

    Like

    1. Hehehe…yeah…the real feeling was exquisite…as far as expressing it in words go, this was the best I could do… 😉

      And reaally glad that you commented!! Was starting to feel a bit lost myself…with no comments on this one!

      Like

    1. somebody linked this post on their blog…and wordpress sends a pingback and counts it as a comment! and that is the saddest part! 😉

      Yeah creed is one of my favorites…along with daughtry and nickelback 🙂

      Like

Penny for your Thoughts...

